top of page
  • Writer's pictureChikondi

Packing List: Miami for NYE!

Updated: Feb 21, 2018

I jetted off to Miami for New Years Eve (yay) and then spent some time in Fort Myers and Naples soaking up the sun!


Flying Spirit Airlines and I was only allowed one carry on bag (no personal item either)... it was a bit of a struggle to get everything into one place but I did it and here is how!

Seashells and sandy toes on Miami's South Beach


Baggage Allowance:

Spirit Airlines kindly informed me that I could carry-on one (1) bag that is 18 x 14 x 8 inches.

Being a chronic overpacker I was instantly worried of exceeding the limit. I welcomed the challenge though, found myself a small duffel, and got packing.


Packing List:

For me to get ready to start any project I first need a detailed to-do list. This helps me organize myself and better think through everything I might need for my trip. Planning sitting in front of the fireplace in 15 degree weather helped me think of everything I would need for my Florida getaway!


I like to organize my packing lists by shoes, clothes, accesories, toiletries, and stuff in my purse. This helps me think through what I could possibly need in each category.


Surprisingly I was able to fit everything listed into my black Pink by Victoria's Secret duffel bag (with minimal sitting on top of the bag to flatten it). The tactic that I found most useful for fitting everything was rolling my clothes.


Folding and then rolling my clothes gave me so much extra room to fit even the things I didn't need!

Another thing I like to do is plan exactly what I will wear on the plane, so that I can incorporate pieces from that outfit into my other outfits while I'm gone!



Planning out exactly what you think you might need can help you pack less things!


As I mentioned earlier I am a chronic over-packer, this does not mean that it isn't impossible for me to cut things down. When I am able to plan ahead I bring less things with me because I already feel prepared.


Tips for Heavy Travelers


Keep things simple! Think through how long you will be there, what the weather will be (what clothes you REALLY need for weather), what shoes you actually will wear, and make a list. Thinking through everything will help you not only pack lighter but also more efficiently. And always take a deep breath, if you forget something you can always find it somewhere else!


Bon voyage!


xoxo Jets & Baguettes

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Salt & Pepper. Proudly created with Wix.com

SUBSCRIBE VIA EMAIL

bottom of page