top of page
  • Writer's pictureChikondi

Making Travel Affordable

Updated: Feb 21, 2018

Everyone who loves to travel knows that the downside to travel (unless you are extremely fortunate) is financing the adventures.


Being able to physically engage in the beauty that is our global community is something truly rewarding and empowering. Unfortunately, getting to this can be very expensive when you are paying for flights, accommodations, food, and let's not even mention shopping!

With the astronomical price of travel it can be easy to push off adventuring and focus on other things. I want to show you how you can economize while traveling and be able to do both!

Obviously, it does depend on where you are going to be visiting for things like plane ticket costs or lodging. This being said, it is still relatively easy to find cheap options but it is important to make sure that those options are safe. You cannot put a price on safety, but if it isn't safe (even if it is super cheap) do not put yourself at risk.



Travel/Flying Costs:

Depending on your start/end location it is always a good first step to determine how you will be getting to the location: flying, driving, biking, walking, public transportation, etc..


I usually like to begin with a Google Maps search of directions to see what I will be doing.


Most of the time, I am trying to go places that are too far to get to any other way than flying. Flying can be expensive but it can also be a better option than driving in terms of cost-comparison and time spent (to name a few reasons). If I am looking up flights I like to start by following a few steps:

  1. I open a new browser on Safari in Private Browsing mode (I do this because it blocks the cookies being used on my browser that could lead to the ticket prices being higher)

  2. I always start with Kayak.com - I enter my dates that I plan on traveling, the destinations, and I watch as it shows me the cheapest flights. Kayak also gives the "flexible dates" option which gives you the cheapest flight during the time when you are trying to travel.

  3. I am a bit of a skeptic so when I find a cheap price for a flight I make sure to check the Flight Number and pricing on the Airline's Website- (Kayak will give you this information)

  4. If I am not satisfied with the results from Kayak I might also check out Skyscanner or Expedia

Before booking a flight, I like to watch flight prices for at least two days (unless the deal is really good).


I also make sure that if I am using a booking company that I have never used before to look them up and read the reviews of previous customer experiences. This is a super important step when you are booking flights using sites like Kayak, Skyscanner, and Expedia because you will not usually be booking through the airline itself. That way there will be no surprise fees at the airport, no cancelled flights, and assurance that you have made an educated decision.


Lodging Costs:

Where you stay while traveling will also determine how much money you spend. This is also dependent on the location that you will be staying in. In order to make sure you are getting the best price it is important to check travel guide recommendations for hotels, neighborhoods to stay in, and bed and breakfasts.


I always love to check out Airbnb . I like it because I can look at places within my price range, read other people's reviews of the property, look at pictures, and have the option to stay in a home by myself or with others. When I travel I almost always use Airbnb for lodging so I also might be a bit biased!


Traveling can be expensive but with the right planning, research, and dedication it is possible to explore the world without spending all your money!


xoxo Jets & Baguettes

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Salt & Pepper. Proudly created with Wix.com

SUBSCRIBE VIA EMAIL

bottom of page